Interview with Chris Caldwell of Celtic Punk Rockers: From Under The Stone

Posted: March 13, 2015 in Heavy Metal, Music
Tags: ,

Chris Caldwell is the lead guitarist of Celtic Punk Rock Band: From Under The Stone. He’s actually a bit of a demon with the old shredding if you watch the video posted down below. Formed in 2011 From Under The Stone say very little on their Facebook page about who they are or what they do. They just leave us with the very short description: “Our answer the to question, “Where the hell did you come from?” The bastard child of Seven Deadly Grins, Inspected By 40, and Censless is here to blow a little wind up ye kilts!” Fair enough, I say. I have no idea what they’re on about, but it sounds fun and I’m interested.

So Metal Empire caught up with Chris to have a chat as it was his birthday recently we wanted to surprise him with a cool interview.

Chris Caldwell Interview:

Metal Empire: Would you care to introduce yourself for our audience? What is your name and what do you do?

Chris Caldwell: My name is Chris Caldwell and I am a Supply Chain/Finance Professional in the Oil & Gas Industry here in Canada. I currently play in a Celtic punk band known as From Under the Stone

Metal Empire: What is the band up to at the moment? Is there something you’re working on currently?

Chris Caldwell: Currently our band has gotten our new guitar player up to speed. We are now in the process of booking gigs in the Alberta area as well as planning to record in the studio in the next coming months. We plan on recording a 4-5 song EP to begin with. We originally recorded an EP a year ago at a local Calgary Studio however the recording quality was quite disappointing so we decided to re-record these songs and others for a new album. I am also working on a solo project. This album is going to be off the wall with all kinds of genres and styles. The cool thing is that it will be very guitar virtuoso oriented. It has speed metal, neo-classical cacophony type stuff as well as David Gilmore and Stevie inspired blues tunes. It’s kinda all over the wall, something like a Satch album. I hope to bust out some of my best guitar tricks and licks on this album.

“he would say things like how he wanted to rub our feet and smell our sweat….creepy”

Metal Empire: Tell us about the music you make, how would you describe your sound?

Chris Caldwell: I make all kinds of music. In my current band From Under the Stone the music is extremely Celtic influenced. I am very much inspired from Classical Celtic music as well as modern day Metal Folk Bands such as Ensiferum, Korpiklaani & Eluveitie. I have played in Swing bands, Be-bop, funk, ska, blues and many other types of bands although I am definitely into more guitar oriented material.

Metal Empire: I hear you have a rather large selection of guitars, can you tell us which ones are your favorite and why?

Chris Caldwell: I do have a number of guitars and basses. Currently I own 25 guitars. My favorites include my Stevie Ray Vaughan Strat, My Tokai Les Paul with EMGs and my Yamaha Acoustic Electric. The SRV No. 1 is one of the original product lines built back in 92. This thing is well broken in and is a blues machine. For massive sounds of destruction the Tokai Les Paul is a beast. Tokai makes excellent Paul Copies. The quality is just as good as Gibson but you are paying a third of a price. This thing feels and plays just like a Paul so you know you can do some damage. It is also extremely diverse even with the Active EMGs boosting the signal. As for my Acoustic, I love playing it since you can take it anywhere and have a great song writing tool. It especially comes in handing for writing folk like riffs.

Metal Empire: You’re current band is Scottish punk and you all wear kilts on stage; it’s an interesting sounding project how did it come about?

Chris Caldwell: This project was inspired by several of my musician friends. One I had played in a previous thrash metal band with while others I had very much played around with in the Calgary music scene. The idea was to get into a band and play in instrument that you do not normally play. Since I was always a guitar guy in bands I ended up taking up both the Mandolin and Upright Bass. Our Bagpipe Player was a drummer, and our drummer was a bass player. This allowed me to very much grow as a musician and expand my horizons. Being a guitar player helped set the ground work for helping me to learn other instruments.

Metal Empire: Can you talk about your production process? How do you go about writing new material?

Chris Caldwell: We actually do have a very productive process that involves us typically writing material first on acoustic instruments. We gather all around a pool table and start bellowing out riffs.

from-under-the-stone

Metal Empire: What and who are some of your major influences? Please give a few details about what you enjoy about creating music and what inspires you to make it.

Chris Caldwell: I have quite a few influences. On the heavier side I got into the original trash bands (Metallica, Slayer & Megadeth) as well as Ozzy and BLS. I also got very much into blues when I was younger listening to SRV, Clapton, BB King, Buddy Guy and so forth. Once my technique improved I got heavier into the Shred side learning Satch, Vai, Malmsteen, Eric Johnson and so forth. About 10 years ago I very much started to get into Scandinavian

Metal Empire: What’s your favourite thing about playing live?

Chris Caldwell: The energy I get from playing music in front of a crowd. I love trying to be as energetic as I possibly can.

Metal Empire: Is there any band or artist you would give anything to play a show with? If so, who are they and why?

Chris Caldwell: I would love to open for some old school metal bands such as Sabbath or Slayer, which would be the bomb! It would be pretty cool to open up for somebody to like Clapton or BB king or SRV (if he were still alive). For my band right now I would certainly love to open for some local Canadian talent out of Vancouver- The Real MaKenzines

Metal Empire: What are you hopes for the future? Where do you see yourself as an artist this time next year or the year after?

Chris Caldwell: I hope to complete my solo album as well as my new album with my band and complete a cross Canada tour.

Metal Empire: If I was to turn up at a show, what should I expect from you in terms of music and showmanship? Is there any crazy stuff you do to pull the crowd?

Chris Caldwell: I am one of those guys that love to pull guitar tricks. Have you ever watched the G3 tour in Denver? I like doing all those crazy kinds of things that both Vai and Malmsteen pull off. Pretty cool stuff.

Metal Empire: What do you think about music piracy, do you think it effects music sales negatively, or do you think there is another cause behind the current drop in record sales?
Chris Caldwell: To be honest I have pirated music myself. For big famous bands that make millions I don’t care too much but I do feel bad about the smaller guys. When I do pirate their music I end up buying the album anyway out of respect. It is unfortunate that record sales have dropped but it’s a fact of life. At least the big record executives are not taking their major share of the profits like they have before. Even big artists made a small amount off their records.

“This is this desire now to have the “perfect” recording.”

Metal Empire: There is a lot of talk about the downfall of the music industry as a whole, do you believe this is the case, or do you believe it is evolving? What do you feel could improve the situation?

Chris Caldwell: I think there are 2 sides to the coin. I certainly do believe there is a downfall in music in terms of the mass production and editing of music. The raw tone that made acts like AC/DC, The Stones, Iron Maiden, Priest and lots of old school metal famous has disappeared. This is this desire now to have the “perfect” recording. I think it’s awesome how things have improved technology wise but a lot of genuine sounds have been stripped from the music. So what if a guy isn’t quite in tune, Jimi nor Bob Dylan were, and I would not have it any other way.

In terms of genres such as metal things are incredibly awesome today. You have so many wide types of sub-genres with 10’s of thousands of bands that are all playing. It’s pretty awesome from that perspective and I would not change anything. Unfortunately it is not as easy to become a rock star in the past. You don’t need to just have talent but the ability to get through all the other bands out there.

Metal Empire: Do you receive much fan mail, and if so what’s the craziest, creepiest or coolest thing you’ve ever gotten from a fan?

Chris Caldwell: The creepiest thing we had was this old bald guy in his 60s that would send us emails and come to our shows. He was a very peculiar man and gave off a creepy nature (in his emails he would say things like how he wanted to rub our feet and smell our sweat….creepy). On a cooler note we have had chicks send in pictures of themselves topless on several occasions!

Metal Empire: Name one thing you love, one thing you hate and one thing you think everyone should try at least once before they die?

Chris Caldwell: I love dogs. One thing I hate is people without common sense (which is far too many) and everyone should at least try a Donair once. Those are mighty tasty!

Metal Empire: If you could have one wish, what would it be and why?

Chris Caldwell: To be able to make a modes living off of playing and recording music. To be able not to have a day job and just rock out 24/7 365 days a year. To have my music heard across the globe and to be able to write a song as good as one of the greats!

Metal Empire: Thank you for taking the time to speak to us about what you do. Do you have any final words, or anything you would like to add?

Chris Caldwell: I just wanted to say thank you very much for the opportunity to speak to you in this interview. It is well appreciated. Chris.

Find out more about

The post Interview with Chris Caldwell of Celtic Punk Rockers: From Under The Stone appeared first on Metal Empire.

from Metal Empire http://www.metalempire.co.uk/2015/03/interview-with-chris-caldwell-of-celtic-punk-rockers-from-under-the-stone/

What are your thoughts?

