Knife Sotelo

Posted: August 25, 2014 in Heavy Metal, Music
Tags: ,

About Knife Sotelo

Excerpt from www.knifermusick.com
“The name is Knife (aka Filerro) and I’m regarded as the first (LaVeyan) Satanic rapper and a pioneer of the New South rap genre. I’m a musician, author, producer and distributor among other things.”

Metal Empire: Would you care to introduce yourself and the band for our audience?

Knife Sotelo: I am “Knife” Sotelo, both the rapper and band *laughs* thank you for having me here.

Metal Empire: What is the band up to at the moment? Is there something you’re working on currently?

Knife Sotelo: We’re actually in the process of making another Nu-Metal album entitled “Proclamation Of The Beast”, it will be the follow up to my last Nu-Metal album “Morals & Dogma.”

Metal Empire: How did the band form? Can you tell us a little bit about your history in music?

Knife Sotelo: The band was formed in 2003 as a punk band called “uRbIN Chaos”, I left the band in 2005 to go on other ventures but I also made frequent appearances with the band going far as starting an eponymous band with the remaining members. The band’s lineup almost always changes between album releases, and most of the time, shows.

Metal Empire: Your music contains some interesting lyrics themes, can you tell us a little bit more about the ideas and concepts there?

Knife Sotelo: We have often been connected with Satanism, in part for the lyrical content frequent use of imagery often tied to left hand path beliefs (such as the inverted pentagram). We are nihilists though.

Metal Empire: Can you talk about your production process? How do you go about writing new material?

Knife Sotelo: When people write songs, they usually write about their feelings. I use experiences from my own personal life as inspiration, and others use things that they have read about. The most important point to remember is that your lyrics should reflect something true about you.

Metal Empire: What and who are some of your major influences? Please give a few details about what you enjoy about creating music and what inspires you to make it.

Knife Sotelo: Weed and Eazy-E. Not only are they my inspirations I worship them religiously. I like to visit Eazy-E’s grave and toke a few joints because it allows me to release my pain and suffering … [and] every year I take a different message that he has said and use it as an inspiration.

Metal Empire: What is your favorite song you’ve written as a musician? And what is your favourite song written by someone else?

Knife Sotelo: My favorite song that I’ve written would have to be “I Wish You Would” although not a banger, it was my only song that was radio friendly. As for my favorite song written by someone else, it would be “American Bad Ass” by Kid Rock

Metal Empire: Have you played any shows or toured alongside any major artists? Are there any shows that come to mind that you feel make a great story? If so, tell us about it.

Knife Sotelo: I haven’t toured with any major artists yet, I’ve only managed to tour with chicano artists. But there was one show that comes to mind and that’s my show at House Of Blues in Hollywood. It was my first show, so it really got hectic.

Metal Empire: Is there any band or artist you would give anything to play a show with? If so, who are they and why?

Knife Sotelo: Yes actually, I would give anything to play a show with Body Count, Ice-T’s metal band. In my eyes they’re living legends.

Metal Empire: What are you hopes for the future? Where do you see yourself as an artist this time next year or the year after?

Knife Sotelo: Only hope for the future is more money. I can see myself being a highly payed record executive. I already run a label I just need to find that certain act that will pave the way to mainstream.

Metal Empire: If I was to turn up at a show, what should I expect from you in terms of music and showmanship? Is there any crazy stuff you do to pull the crowd?

Knife Sotelo: My shows are very reminiscent to Marilyn Mansons shows, especially the one where he performs “Antichrist Superstar.”

Metal Empire: How do feel about being DIY musicians in today’s music industry?

Knife Sotelo: That’s the only way to do it now, nobody just starts at the top, we all have to do it ourselves first.

Metal Empire: Do you receive much fan mail, and if so what’s the craziest, creepiest or coolest thing you’ve ever gotten from a fan?

Knife Sotelo: Yes we receive lots of fanmail. The coolest one was when a model offered her services to gogo dance one of our shows.

Metal Empire: If you could have any super power what would it be?

Knife Sotelo: Regeneration, plain and simple.

Metal Empire: If you could only hear one more song for the rest of your life what would you choose?

Knife Sotelo: Boys N The Hood by Eazy-E doesn’t get any real than that.

Metal Empire: Thank you for taking the time to speak to Metal Empire about what you do. Do you have any final words, or anything you would like to add?

Knife Sotelo: Thank you for interviewing me. I’d just like to say to keep your head up and always shoot for target you can hit. For more information on me just visit my website at http://www.knifermusick.com

The post Knife Sotelo appeared first on Metal Empire.

from Metal Empire http://www.metalempire.co.uk/2014/08/knife-sotelo/

What are your thoughts?

