Sweet Suicide Singer Cindy Parr Talks Metal: “Not Just Tits In A Corset”

Posted: April 11, 2014 in Heavy Metal, Music
Tags: ,

Sweet Suicide is a heavy melodic female fronted rock/metal band made up of Cindy Parr, Greg Lane, Moses Wells and Jesse Jenkins. Metal empire caught up with them to talk about what they’re up to. After recently being showcased in a new book about ladies in the world of metal “Not Just Tits In A Corset” Cindy Parr was keen to share her thought about the bands latest endevours. Including the release of their new single “Stolen Innocence”.

Sweet Suicide Interview

Members have come from two totally different styles of metal music and have successfully come together to make their sound work.They have taken two broken bands a put together something new.

Metal Empire: Would you care to introduce yourself for our audience? What is your name and what do you do?

Sweet Suicide: My name is Cindy Parr and I am the vocalist for the metal band Sweet Suicide from Baltimore, MD – USA

Metal Empire: I hear you are planning to release a new EP this year can you tell us more about it?

Sweet Suicide: Our EP has been a long time coming! For about two years we have been talking about and discussing our EP and finally we feel like it’s the right time to begin working on it. We now feel like the songs we are writing are worth recording and putting out for people to purchase. It’s taken a lot of time and patients but I think we have finally “found our sound.” The first few songs we wrote were “OK” but definitely not the music we wanted to take the time to record and release, we were still learning how to work and write together and really trying to figure out where the hell we fit in this whole “Metal” scene. But after 3 years our sound is pretty much where we want it to be and it’s something that we are proud of and can stand behind.

Metal Empire: You have a new track out called “Stolen Innocence” can you talk a little about the song, what’s it about?

Sweet Suicide: Stolen Innocence is one of the most personal songs I have ever written. It’s the true story of a little girl who was molested when she was 8 – Me. The story and the lyrics come right from experience. I hid what had happened for so long and when I finally decided to let everyone know I choose to do it the only way that made sense to me…in a song. I want the audience to be a bit shocked or stunned with the lyrics, I want them to listen to the song and not just hear it and I wanted to evoke some kind of feelings – be them good, bad, sad or familiar. I just wanted people to feel something when they heard this song and I wanted to be honest. Figured, if I was going to write a song about such a sensitive subject I may as well be honest. I feel like Jesse (our lead guitarist) and I pulled off just that. When the chorus kicks in and the lyrics say “Killed by your own negligence” that’s also true. The person who did that to me is now dead – killed in a car accident, he was high. I wrote this song shortly after finding that out. Stolen Innocence isn’t the only Sweet Suicide song that written from real life – all of our songs are.

Metal Empire: You were recently mentioned in the book “Not Just Tits In A Corset” a book celebrating women in metal. How did that come about? How have you fans reacted to it?

Sweet Suicide: I would say that came about because I was in the right place at the right time. I was lucky enough to be invited to preform an all female fronted festival here in Baltimore called “The Flight of the Valkyries” and the author of the book was at that show! Shortly after the festival I received an email asking if I would be interested in participating in her new book that celebrated women in metal. After the initial shock of being asked I quickly agreed to be interviewed. Now that the book is out I keep having to pinch myself – I can’t believe that my name is in the same book as some of the most influential women in metal. Women whom I have looked up to all my life. It’s an incredible honor and privilege to be one of only a few women in the book who ARE NOT signed to a major label. As far as how our fans have reacted, I’d say that they are very excited for me and the band – granted most of our fan base now is family, friends and a few hard core fans but everyone who knows me and the band are very excited and proud of this accomplishment. As are we!

Metal Empire: Anything else crazy/awesome/interesting happen to you in the last 12 months?

Sweet Suicide: Something interesting – we played a gig last October where we got to share a bill with the band OTEP. I’m a fan of OTEP for sure, so it was great to see our bands name on the same flier as their name. Something awesome – I think we finally nailed our line up. Last month our very good friend Ronnie Ward joined us as our new rhythm guitarist. Ronnie, Jesse (lead guitar) and Moses (drums) played in a band a while back together so it’s nice that they are back together doing what they are suppose to be doing, making music. We are all very happy he agreed to join our band. Then of course being in the book is very awesome! As far as something crazy, Nothing yet, but I’d say we welcome anything crazy that comes our way!

Metal Empire: It can be a difficult task to describe one’s own artistic talents, but how would you describe your music?

Sweet Suicide: I would describe our music as honest and at times brutal. Jesse, Moses and Ronnie come from the “death metal” sub genera while Greg (bass) and I come from a more “industrial metal” sub genera. Some how we have come together to make it all work. Each of our songs are really individual. Some like Stolen Innocence are quiet for the most part but then the chorus rips in and Jesse melts your face with his guitar riffs and growls. Other songs like one called “Nameless” and another called “Kill You Now” are pretty much full force and in your face from the start. And I like that about us – we are a little unpredictable, which makes it hard to really put a label on us – if anyone asks what kind of music we play, I always say “Hard Rock/ Metal.” It’s the easiest way to describe us.

Metal Empire: Can you talk about your production process? How do you go about writing new material?

Sweet Suicide: Each members role in this band is very much defined. We call Jesse “The Talent” because he is the beginning and end of our song writing process. He pulls something from his riff bag and then everyone else just jumps right in. The good thing about us at this point is after 3 years we can definitely write a song with our talking much. Jesse and Moses have been friends since kindergarten so they know how each others musical brain works. Greg and I have been together for a long time and if anyone ask – Greg is the best bassist in Baltimore ( I may be a bit bias) but he’s one of those bassist that need NO direction. He doesn’t always follow the guitars and he always comes up with something great…and all he asks is that we “play it forever” until he figures it out. As far as they lyrics, I write my own lyrics and Jesse writes his. Once I latch on to a melody I just think of a topic and fill in the words then I hand it over to Jesse and he fills in his blanks. We all pull our weight when we write and it works for us.

Metal Empire: What and who are some of your major influences? Fans always love getting to know their favorite artists. Please give a few details about what you enjoy about creating music and what inspires you to make it.

Sweet Suicide: With out a doubt my biggest inspiration is Amy Lee from Evanescence. When that band came out and I heard “Bring me to life” for the first time I was like…YES that is what I want to do! I had finally heard something that spoke to me, a voice that was beautiful and sweet but accompanied by shredding guitars and thunderous drums. I knew from their first song that I was a fan for life! Our band as a whole draws inspiration from a very diverse group of bands – Greg is inspired by Deftones, I also really love Volbeat, Moses and Jesse’s roots are in hardcore death metal, bands like The Faceless and Slipknot. But there is one band that we all sing along to and that’s Stone Sour. We reference Stone Sour a lot during practice.

What I enjoy most about creating music is the freedom I get when I write. I say a lot of things in my songs that I would never be brave enough to say without my band behind me. Music is a safe place to say how I feel without judgment or too many questions. What inspires me to keep making it, is that I still have a lot to say! And as long as my bandmates are behind me I will continue to make music with them.

Metal Empire: What’s the worst/best venue or show you’ve ever played? What made it so good/bad?

Sweet Suicide: Oh man! Most venues stick out for the bad experiences we have had there, but my favorite place to play in Baltimore is The Ottobar and Baltimore Sound Stage. They are just real music venues! Big, awesome stages, great sound and usually a built in audience. I know when we are invited to play these venues that it’s going to be a good night and people want to come see us play there. Sound has a lot to do with whither or not our friends and fans will come see us. Being a band fronted by a women with a “soft” voice…If I can’t be heard most people wont come out.

Metal Empire: Is there any band or artist you would give anything to play a show with? If so, who are they and why?

Sweet Suicide: I would cut off a boob to share a bill with any of the following: Evanescence, In This Moment, Nightwish, Lacuna Coil, Stone Sour, Volbeat, The Faceless – Every reason I started playing in a bands started with Evanescence. Not to keep mentioning other bands but Amy Lee was the women who let me know that yes, I can keep my soft, airy vocals and still front a serious rock band – and be taken seriously as a women in metal at the same time. Sweet Suicide could learn so much from sharing a night with any of these bands. But for now we will just keep dreaming.

Metal Empire: What are you hopes for the future? Where do you see yourself as an artist this time next year or the year after?

Sweet Suicide: As a general rule of life, I keep my expectations low and my hopes high. With our band I like to focus on what we are going to accomplish in the next month rather than the next year. Right now, we all just want to record, record, record. Get that EP out, have an EP release party, get more music up online and then start on a full length album. It’s our goal to play bigger and better shows here in our state as well as begin to branch out to surrounding cities. But hopefully in the next year we will be well on our way to releasing our first CD and if we are lucky get some really great opening gigs. That way we get a bit more exposure.

Metal Empire: If I was to turn up at a show, what should I expect from you in terms of music and showmanship? Is there any crazy stuff you do to pull the crowd?

Sweet Suicide: For anyone who comes to a Sweet Suicide show we just want you to leave knowing that what we gave you was our best! We head bang, get lost in our music and hopefully inspire you to give lady fronted metal a fair chance. To be totally honest, we are working very hard on our “showmanship” and our stage presence. I think some of us get lost tying not to mess up and sometimes forget we have to also entertain folks! Except Greg – He is a rock star for real! He throws down and is often the best entertainment on stage.

Metal Empire: Do you receive much fan mail, and if so what’s the craziest, creepiest or coolest thing you’ve ever gotten from a fan?

Sweet Suicide: Unfortunately, we have never received any fan mail. However, I have had some “haters” and/or stalkers….Hey, I guess if they are bothering me they are leaving someone else alone! But, I look forward to future creepy fan mail.

Metal Empire: Thank you for taking the time to speak to Metal Empire about what you do. Do you have any final words, or anything you would like to add?

Sweet Suicide: Thank you for the interview! My final word would be, give us a chance! If you’re in or around Maryland come on out to a show! We would love the opportunity to meet you and melt your face. We work very hard to make this music and bring it to you and all we ask for is a chance and your ears.

Sweet Suicide – Stolen Innocence (Lyric Video)

Links to Sweet Suicides music:

Links:
Facebook: www.facebook.com/sweetsuicidemusic
Reverbnation: www.reverbnation.com/sweetsuicidemusic
YouTube: www.youtube.com/sweetsuicidemusic
Merch: sweetsuicidemusic.bigcartel.com
Soundcloud: soundcloud.com/sweetsuicidemusic

The post Sweet Suicide Singer Cindy Parr Talks Metal: “Not Just Tits In A Corset” appeared first on Metal Empire.

flattr this!

from Metal Empire http://www.metalempire.co.uk/2014/04/sweet-suicide-singer-cindy-parr-talks-metal-not-just-tits-in-a-corset/

What are your thoughts?

