VIDEO: Machine Head In The Studio

Posted: March 12, 2014 in Metalhammer
Tags: , ,

Machine Head’s Robb and Phil

Machine Head have posted the first in a series of video diaries from the studio.

The Cali metal heavyweights are currently holed up in their hometown’s JingleTown Recording Studio to record the follow-up to 2011′s Unto The Locust, tentatively due to land around Autumn time via Nuclear Blast.

MH frontman Robb Flynn told us earlier this year that there’s some rather dark lyrical matter running through the album, noting: “I’ve got some pretty cool lyrics ready. There’s a song called Night Of The Long Knives, and it’s pretty fucked! It’s about the Manson murders, and the lyrics are really dark and vicious. We’ve found some new twists to give to the Machine Head sound and some new fire and excitement.

“I just try and do my thing,” he adds of his approach to the album. “With this record in particular, I’ve tried to discipline myself more with routine, writing a little bit every day, but for months I was in a riff rut. Every riff I wrote fuckin’ sucked! Then we took a two-week break and I was writing my Facebook journals about the [2003’s] Through The Ashes Of Empires story, and that cleared my head. At the end of those two weeks, the floodgates opened and all hell of riffs poured out. I was so stoked! This torrent of riffs, this molten hot lava, was at my fingertips. It’s such a good feeling.”

The album will serve as Machine Head’s first since bassist and founding member Adam Duce left the fold last year.

from Metal Hammer http://www.metalhammer.co.uk/news/video-machine-head-in-the-studio/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=video-machine-head-in-the-studio
via Merlin

What are your thoughts?

