Ozzy Osbourne: “I Was Sent Letters Written In Blood”

Posted: January 28, 2014 in Metalhammer
Tags: , ,

Ozzy: Back in Black…..Sabbath

Black Sabbath have revealed the original working title for last year’s comeback single God Is Dead? – and why they never ran with it.

“Ozzy gave me that line, and I wrote the lyrics,” Geezer Butler tells Shortlist. I wanted to call the song American Jihad.”

“I was in a doctor’s office and there was a magazine in there with that line on the cover,” reveals Ozzy. “I thought, ‘Yeah — people flew planes into the World Trade Center because of God, there’s all this fucking shit going on in the world in the name of God.’ Fuck [calling it American Jihad]. I’m the guy at the front singing it; I would have had a fucking army after me. In the early days, there was a lot of backlash from religious groups. I was sent letters written in blood. In my house I must have 25 fucking Bibles, each with a marked-up passage that [the sender] wanted me to read.”

God Is Dead? was soon followed by 13, which made history for the metal icons by debuting at number one both in the UK charts and Stateside.

from Metal Hammer http://www.metalhammer.co.uk/news/ozzy-osbourne-i-was-sent-letters-written-in-blood/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=ozzy-osbourne-i-was-sent-letters-written-in-blood
via Merlin

What are your thoughts?

