Ex Sunset Riot Frontman Dellacoma Talks To Metal Empire (Interview)

Posted: January 19, 2014 in Heavy Metal, Music
Tags: ,

Recently we managed to catch up with Former Sunset Riot frontman Dellacoma for a friendly chat about his latest endeavour. Dellacoma has set out on his own to find fame and fortune. We must say it sounds like the man is very excited about his new baby and frankly we’re not surprised. It looks like he is finding his feet well and going from strength to strength with the release of a new single and several more on the way, boosted by a massive 9 month tour of the USA. So just before the man finishes packing his last suitcase on his outward bound journey we sat down and asked him a few questions about life the universe and everything.

Dellacoma Interview

Metal Empire: Hi Dellacoma, How are you?

Dellacoma: Quite well and you?

Metal Empire: Very Good Thank you. I must say, Dellacoma is a cool and unusual name, is it your real one?

Dellacoma: Haha, well…I’ll leave that up to your imagination

Metal Empire: That’s what we like! A bit of mystery. You have a new band, can you tell us about it?

Dellacoma: Definitely! After the breakup of Sunset Riot I decided that I wanted to continue with music but I couldn’t find a band that fit with what I wanted to do so I decided to create my own

Metal Empire: You used to be the vocalist of Sunset Riot, how come you have decided to go out on your own?

Dellacoma: Sunset Riot was a great experience and I’m really proud of what we achieved in our 5 years on the scene but when we broke up in the middle of 2013 I just wasn’t ready to give up music yet, I felt like I still had a lot to give.

Metal Empire: I heard your new single Dead Will Rise, awesome track, is there a story behind the lyrics or the music?

Dellacoma: Thank you! This song has been a constant evolution for me. The original idea behind it was that I felt like, after the breakup of Sunset Riot, a lot of people assumed that was the end of me as an artist, that I was effectively ‘dead’ career wise. Lyrically this was originally me expressing the fact that I’m still very much alive and plan on releasing a lot more music.

As I wrote the song tho my eyes began to open to a broader meaning. I feel like when the song ended up it could be an anthem for anyone who feels like they are viewed as ‘dead’, whether that’s someone in a dead end job or a single mum or someone in a lot of debt or living with a debilitating disease. As a society we tend to be very judgmental and I guess the main thrust of the lyrical content is that the most important thing when you feel like you’re in a dead end situation or part of life etc is to realize that you are still alive and while you’re still breathing there’s hope.

Sunset Riot

Ex Sunset Riot frontman Dellacoma singing his heart out

Metal Empire: I hear you have another single out soon, can you tell us a little bit about it?

Dellacoma: Yes indeed! My second single is titled “Change” and was co-written with Dean Williams, the same phenomenal guitarist who also played on “Dead Will Rise”. We met thru mutual friends and played in a side project together. During this time we really hit it off and found a really rich vein of songwriting together.

This song is much more upbeat and examines the theme of needing to look outside the box and not settle for what’s comfortable all the time…you could almost call it a punk song I guess, that rebel attitude. I’m very excited to get this song out as I think it shows a real progression even though Dean and I haven’t known each other that long it came together really well and I’m super proud of it.

Metal Empire: You’re touring the USA for a large part of 2014, can you give us more information? Is there a particular venue or show are you most looking forward to playing while you’re there?

Dellacoma: Yes I’m finally biting the bullet and hitting the road for the majority of this year. I’ll be playing some solo acoustic shows as well as touring Dellacoma at some festivals and venues right across the USA.

I always have a lot of fun in Topeka, Albuquerque, Lubbock and PhillyJacksonville Florida is a great time as well but I’m also looking forward to hitting a lot of new venues and places that we never reached with Sunset Riot.

Metal Empire: You have a new sponsor Rock N Roll Gangstar Clothing, how did that come about?

Dellacoma: Last year Sunset Riot played at a festival called Rocklahoma and I happened to get in touch with the owner of Rock n Roll Gangstar Clothing and he said to come by the booth.

In between set times and interviews I went over and hung out for a bit and we really hit it off. They are a very grassroots company, friendly and unique, I like that a lot, so many companies have lost their roots but I appreciate a company that can have success and still be accessible, they’ve got a bunch of big name artists wearing their brand including Rudy Sarzo, David Draiman, Gavin Rossdale and Ann Boleyn just to name a few. Needless to say I’m super pumped to be joining them.

Metal Empire: Can you talk about your production process? How do you go about writing new material?

Dellacoma: This time around has been very different to how we went about it in Sunset Riot. Its been a very organic process but also an aggressive and confident approach.

Usually when an idea hits me I write it down or record it and then I’ll schedule in a songwriting rehearsal with Dean and we go from there. Its pretty chill actually, I find that as long as you keep your eyes open every day and fill yourself with inspiration it all seems to come out when you sit down to actually write.

Metal Empire: Fans always love getting to know their favourite artists. Can you give a few details about what you enjoy about creating music and what inspires you to make it?

Dellacoma: At heart I’m a story teller and an observer. I love hearing new stories and watching people do what they do in their own particular way. I see my major inspiration coming from the people I live around and the people I observe, sometimes that’s in an airport or in a bar but often its just at a mall or shopping centre or with friends. I want to make music that I’m passionate about and tell the stories I think need to be heard.

Dellacoma Sunset Riot

Dellacoma singing for his fans.

Metal Empire: Who is your favourite band you’ve gotten to share a stage with? Are there any shows that come to mind that you feel make a great story? If so, tell us about it.

Dellacoma: Ooh, that’s a big question!! Probably either The Darkness, Slash and Black Stone Cherry in 2012 or the Last Vegas in 2013.

One story that comes to mind was several years ago now, we drove all the way to Brisbane for one show, its about 10 hours north of Sydney where Sunset Riot is from, played the show then hopped straight back in the car and drove home at 2am cos we had a sound check the next day for a big World Cup party show we were playing at the Sydney Harbour.

Somewhere around 5am we were in the middle of nowhere and the trailer hitch broke and we started swerving all over the place. Luckily no one was hurt so we pulled over and ended up buying a trailer hitch off a guy at a petrol station, went straight up to him and asked if we could buy it off his car! Ended up pulling into Sydney with about 10 minutes to spare!

Metal Empire: Is there any band or artist you would give anything to play a show with? If so, who are they and why?

Dellacoma: I am a massive Shinedown fan so if I ever got the chance to share the stage with them that would be a dream come true. Aerosmith are probably my all time favourite band so I would relish that opportunity as well.

Metal Empire: What are you hopes for the future? Where do you see yourself as an artist this time next year or the year after?

Dellacoma: I’ve got some pretty plans actually; I don’t intend to sit still for long. I’ve got another 2 singles in the process of being recorded as well as working on an acoustic EP and I hope to put out a vinyl record towards the end of the year. I’ve got plans for another 3 merch designs as well as some more writing and recording pencilled in for the end of the year and am working on getting to Europe in October.

Metal Empire: If I was to turn up at a show, what should I expect from you in terms of music and showmanship? Is there any crazy stuff you do to pull the crowd?

Dellacoma: You can expect passion. Straight up passion! I love performing live, it’s what I live for! I have a wireless microphone so I run around the building, stand on the bar, crowd surf, and hang from the rafters (no literally!). No holds barred. I want you as an audience member to come to my show and completely forget about the outside world for the time you’re there, that’s my goal.

Metal Empire: Do you receive much fan mail, and if so what’s the craziest, creepiest or coolest thing you’ve ever gotten from a fan?

Dellacoma: Haha, yeah I’ve gotten some doozies thru the years…I’m gonna censor the creepiest thing, I’ll tell you off the record, the coolest thing tho was a remote control Red Ferrari with the Sunset Riot logo hand painted on the front. We have a song called Red Ferrari and had just put out that record (“Uprising”) so it was a pretty cool and very unexpected gift!

Metal Empire: We always ask a last question that’s just for fun, so what’s your current desktop background and why?

Dellacoma: Haha, well, to honest its pretty boring. I am staying with family at the moment so its not even my computer…I think it’s a picture of a field of daisies or something like that

Metal Empire: Thank you for taking the time to speak to Metal Empire about what you do. Do you have any final words, or anything you would like to add?

Dellacoma: Thanks so much for your time! Hope to make it across the pond one of these days

Buy Dellacoma’s Latest Single

You can help support Dellacoma’s new project by purchasing his latest single directly from iTunes

Dellacoma – Dead Will Rise (Lyric Video)

Dellacoma on Social Media

Dellacoma Facebook
Dellacoma Twitter
Dellacome iTunes
Dellacoma Official Website

Dellacoma’s Work With Sunset Riot

If you are interested in listening to Dellacoma’s previous body of work with his former band, you can buy their awesome music on iTunes
Sunset Riot on iTunes

The post Ex Sunset Riot Frontman Dellacoma Talks To Metal Empire (Interview) appeared first on Metal Empire.

flattr this!

from Metal Empire http://www.metalempire.co.uk/2014/01/ex-sunset-riot-frontman-dellacoma-talks-to-metal-empire-interview/

What are your thoughts?

