Evanescene’s Amy Lee Scores Movie Soundtrack

Posted: January 9, 2014 in Metalhammer
Tags: , ,

Amy Lee: film buff

Evanescence singer Amy Lee has scored her first film soundtrack for upcoming indie flick, War Story.

The film, premiering later this month at the Sundance film festival in Park City, Utah, stars Catherine Keener and Ben Kingsley and is described by Amy as “very dark, very introspective”.

“It’s going to surprise my fans,” adds the singer. “There’s a lot of blending of sounds, a lot of ominous tones. I play a lot of keyboard, and a lot of Taurus pedal. There’s a lot of low drones. There are moments of playing, and it’s musical, but there are a lot of moments where Dave [Eggar, composer] and I just built walls of sounds, out of blaring cellos and trombones and synthesizers and harp, all on top of each other,” she continues. “Sort of creating new sounds. It’s not, like, a soundtrack. it’s an atmosphere.

“I’ve been talking about wanting to score forever, and this was my first opportunity to explore that. Dave and I were already talking about taking a meeting for another film, and I definitely want to work with him again. I’m open-minded. I really like to be in a free place where I’m not boxing myself in; I say that all the time, but that’s the goal right now.”

 

 

from Metal Hammer http://www.metalhammer.co.uk/news/evanescenes-amy-lee-scores-movie-soundtrack/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=evanescenes-amy-lee-scores-movie-soundtrack
via Merlin

What are your thoughts?

