Despite My Deepest Fear Interview with Metal Empire

Posted: December 23, 2013 in Heavy Metal, Music
Tags: ,

About Despite My Deepest Fear

Despite My Deepest Fear are a five-piece Metalcore band from London, UK. Formed in 2009. They are men of few words, quite literally. It was very hard to track down a solid biography on the guys. In fact I couldn’t find anything that was dated later than 2010. It certainly adds an air of mystery. According to the little pieces that I could find in the dark recesses of the internet. (Okay, okay, it’s from last.fm. Still who uses that thing any more anyway?) Despite My Deepest Fear are “Well established for intense live performances and heavy breakdowns… they have taken the current standard of British Metalcore to a whole new level.”

As of writting this article the bands line up according to their Facebook page is as follows. Ryan Endacott – Vocals, Nick Nowak – Vocals, Josh Lark – Guitar & Vocals, Arron Yarrow – Guitar, Julian Murray – Bass, Toby Barnswarda – Drums

The Facebook boasts an impressive 30,000+ Fans so the band must be doing something right that’s for sure. I think their air of mystery is paying off. As there seemed to be so little information freely available to a wanting fan base that could fill a sizeable stadium. Metal Empire wanted to take the challenge head on, and get to know this 6 piece of Mystery Metalcore Badasses a little bit better.

Interview:

Metal Empire: Would you care to introduce yourself for our audience? What is your name and what do you do?

Despite My Deepest Fear – Arron: My name’s Arron Yarrow, I play guitar for Despite My Deepest Fear.

Metal Empire: What is the band up to at the moment? Is there something you’re working on currently?

DMDF – Arron: We are currently working on album number two! We have a few demo’s we’re happy with at the moment and we’ll hopefully be ready to hit the studio early-mid 2014!

Metal Empire: Where are you from? Do you feel your location has any effect on the music you make?

DMDF – Arron: We’re all from London, England. I don’t think location has much to do with it because we play (what most consider) a very American style of metal that isn’t hugely popular in the UK. It’s just our taste in music at the end of the day!

Metal Empire: It can be a difficult task to describe one’s own artistic talents, but how would you describe your music?

DMDF – Arron: Heavy and catchy. Best of both worlds!

Metal Empire: Can you talk about your production process? How do you go about writing new material?

DMDF – Arron: With this new album our new vocalist Nick Nowak and myself would write up something on our own and when we get together we’d cut, edit and merge until we’re happy with what we have. I certainly like what we’re knocking up at the moment so the process works! This will be the first full length record with our newest members Nick and Toby (drums) so getting in the studio when we have a nice selection of demos to choose from will be a lot of fun.

Metal Empire: What and who are some of your major influences? Fans always love getting to know their favorite artists. Please give a few details about what you enjoy about creating music and what inspires you to make it.

DMDF – Yarrow: It’s hard to answer questions like this when everyones influences are different but we do all listen to similar bands such as Memphis May Fire, Bring Me The Horizon, The Amity Affliction and so on. The bands we listen to influence us / myself in different ways for example BMTH being played on daytime Radio in the UK gives me a small bit of hope for our (and other heavy bands’) future; where as a band like Memphis May Fire would influence our song writing in some small way because they combine their clean and heavy sections very well.

Metal Empire: What’s the worst/best venue or show you’ve ever played? What made it so good/bad?

DMDF – Arron: A highlight to date is playing a sold out show at The Underworld in Camden. It has always been a venue the guys and myself have wanted to play so that was a lot of fun. We’ve had hundreds of bad shows but to me none stand out. After all this time in DMDF we’re just used to bad turnouts, equipment failures and the rest! DMDF’s bad luck is legendary.

Metal Empire: Have you played any shows or toured alongside any major artists? Are there any shows that come to mind that you feel make a great story? If so, tell us about it.

DMDF – Arron: One tour I enjoyed a lot was with With One Last Breath (UK) and Adept (SWE). One night in particular after our date in Leeds there was a club night where we all got hammered and bonded over Jagerbombs. A decent quote from that night is (in a Swedish accent), “give me two hundred Jagerbombs!”.

Metal Empire: Is there any band or artist you would give anything to play a show with? If so, who are they and why?

DMDF – Arron: I ask myself this question a lot and I can never think of just one band. Playing with bands who will guarantee a great sold-out crowd with fans who will like us is what it has to come down too really for the good of DMDF! Bands like BMTH, Asking Alexandria, Lamb Of God, Killswitch Engage, Miss May I, Parkway Drive etc.

Metal Empire: What are you hopes for the future? Where do you see yourself as an artist this time next year or the year after?

DMDF – Arron: My hopes for the future would be to get a record label behind us for this new album who will then send us out on tour with (aiming high) the bands listed above. I basically want to tour continuously, we all do!

Metal Empire: If I was to turn up at a show, what should I expect from you in terms of music and showmanship? Is there any crazy stuff you do to pull the crowd?

DMDF – Arron: Despite the turnout or the setbacks we have, we will always put our all in to our performances. We will always come off stage dripping with sweat, perhaps with a broken bone or two and we would be raring to go the next day! If I wake up the following morning after a show and I’m not aching then I know next time I need to work harder and go more crazy (while playing my parts well, of course).

Metal Empire: I once heard someone say, that to be in a successful band it requires all of you to be like a family or best friends. Do you agree with that statement. Please tell us about your own experiences being part of a band.

DMDF – Arron: I think some of us genuinely hate one another sometimes but we have all been friends for so long that we can brush any issue under the rug and crack on. You definitely have to like your band mates otherwise it really isn’t going to work. Couldn’t think of anything worse than being stuck in a van for a week with someone you despise.

Metal Empire: Do you receive much fan mail, and if so what’s the craziest, creepiest or coolest thing you’ve ever gotten from a fan?

DMDF – Arron: I don’t think we have ever received any fan mail. We just stumble upon some hilarious comments about us or one of us on the web somewhere. That’ll do for now!

Metal Empire: Just for fun, what’s your current ringtone? Why did you choose it?

DMDF – Arron: I have the standard iPhone ringtone because I’m too old to give a shit.

Metal Empire: Thank you for taking the time to speak to Metal Empire about what you do. Do you have any final words, or anything you would like to add?

DMDF – Arron: Thank you and check us out if you haven’t already!

End Of Interview Afterword

So there you have it. If you were already a fan of the band, hopefully now I’ve helped you gain some more incite into this underground metalcore machine. If not hopefully this walk on the wild side has provoked you to take some interest and go find out more. Which you can do either via their Twitter, Facebook or Official Site.

DMDF Merchandise

If you want to help support the band then go check out and buy some of their merch on DMDF’s Big Cartel store. Where you can pick up awesome designs like this t-shirt.

Despite My Deepest Fear T-Shirt

An awesome Despite My Deepest Fear T-Shirt Design, Available now on the bands Big Cartel Store.

Vixen – Official Music Video

If you still haven’t had enough. We’ve attached one of their latest creations “Vixen” in the YouTube video below. So getting your fucking teeth into it. Enjoy!

Vixen produced by Daniel Kerr of Avenue Studios.
Filmed & edited by Toby Suda & Martin Jarrett of Flat White Films.
http://www.flatwhitefilms.com

VIXEN LYRICS:
I don’t even feel alive
The thought of running circles round my mind, my fucking mind
The darkest places of my head, it takes me back
And now I am lost in it, I can’t find a way out.

We’ll sleep alone tonight, but our heads won’t rest
We’ll be alone tonight, until our dreams wake us up

One day you’ll find me buried ’cause I’ve had enough
I don’t want the world to see you how I do

Take all your chosen words and keep them inside
Fuck everything you’ve said ’cause you don’t control my life

FUCK EVERYTHING!

You took away my voice
Oh If I could go back, I would change so much about you

One day you’ll find me buried ’cause I’ve had enough
I just don’t want the world to see you how I do
If I could go back, I would change so much about you
If I could go back, to find you there
Just take me away, I’ll be the one to show you that nothing ever changes

But some things hit home harder

The post Despite My Deepest Fear Interview with Metal Empire appeared first on Metal Empire.

from Metal Empire http://www.metalempire.co.uk/2013/12/despite-deepest-fear-interview-metal-empire/

What are your thoughts?

