Deftones Former Bass Player Chi Cheng: Rest In Peace

Posted: April 14, 2013 in Metal, Music, News, Rock, Soul Sanctuary
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

RIP Chi

Chi Cheng Deftones Bass Player

Chi Cheng Rest In Peace You Will Be Missed

Moments ago, I read the devastating news that Chi Cheng former Deftones bass player passed away. Deftones were one of the very first metal bands I ever heard, I didn’t even really understand what metal was at the time, I was a skater punk, I just knew that was I was hearing for the first time was awesome and that I wanted more. So in a sense Deftones took away my metal virginity. They are truly one of my favourite bands of all time, and always will be. That is why I find the news of Chi Cheng’s death very upsetting. I knew that he was no longer playing bass for Deftones after his tragic car accident, but it never quite hits you how bad an accident is/was until something like this happens. Looking through the photos and seeing him in hospital left a sense of feeling hollow inside. Mine and the rest of Soul Sanctuary’s thoughts are with his friends and family. I’m sure the guys in Deftones are having a very hard time at the moment. If Chi Cheng had any impact on your life through the music of the Deftones, go let the band know that your thoughts are with them too.

Rest in Peace Chi.

You will be missed.

via Soul Sanctuary – British Heavy Metal Band http://www.soulsanctuarymusic.com/2013/04/deftones-former-bass-player-chi-cheng-rest-in-peace/

by Luke

What are your thoughts?

